» » David Smith Quintet - Anticipation

David Smith Quintet - Anticipation mp3 album

David Smith Quintet - Anticipation mp3 album Performer: David Smith Quintet
Album: Anticipation
Released: 2010
Style: Contemporary Jazz
Size MP3: 1297 mb.
Size FLAC: 1475 mb.
Rating: 4.1/5
Votes: 501

With Anticipation by the David Smith Quintet comes another release from the Brooklyn Jazz Underground label, an independent and artist-run label committed to creative and adventurous contemporary improvised music. True to the label’s namesake, the present release features a number of conventions that have become synonymous with the Brooklyn jazz scene: odd meters, complex forms, parallel harmonies, inventive originals, modern covers, and superb musicianship. As is the tenor for most of the album, Bittersweet and Alone are both minor tunes with a certain dark quality and poignancy. Smith explains that the impetus for these compositions was his feelings towards fatherhood and from being apart from his wife and daughter. Guitarist Nate Radley contributes the beautiful Carillon, a simple diatonic melody played by the two horns, which serves as a refreshing contrast to the other material.

01. Anticipation 02. Carillon 03. All Or Nothing At All 04.

By David Smith Quintet. Listen to Anticipation in full in the this site app. Play on this site.

On this page you can listen to mp3 music free or download album or mp3 track to your PC, phone or tablet. David Smith Quintet David Smith - trumpet John Gallagher - alto saxophone Nate Radley - guitar Gary Wang - bass Anthony Pinciotti - drums. Provided to YouTube by The Orchard Enterprises Alone · David Smith Quintet Anticipation ℗ 2010 David Smith Released on: 2010-05-25 Music Publisher:. And you can download the album in one file to your computer or tablet or phone

Impetus is the third album from the David Smith Quintet, featuring Smith's working band for the past several years, Dan Pratt on saxophones, Nate Radley on guitar, Gary Wang on bass and Anthony Pinciotti on drums. On Impetus Smith offers six original compositions that explore subtle tensions that drive the music forward. Anticipation, the follow up recording to Smith’s debut recording Circumstance (2006, FSNT), is largely about the experiences in Smith’s life surrounding the birth of his daughter Hannah (who appears on the cover and inside). The recording opens with the title track, which refers to the feelings, and to some degree anxiety I felt about impending fatherhood, but also the word as a musical term.

David Smith - Quintet for Harp and Strings in F Major: Snow Falling. album: Adjoining Room. David Smith - Woodwind Quintet in E-Flat Major: Loma Mar Suite. David Fathead Newman, Kenny Barron, Marvin Smitty Smith, Ray Dummond Quintet, Steve Nelson - Relentless Pursuit. album: Camera In A Bag. Starr St. album: Impetus.

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Anticipation 8:47
2 Carillon
Written-By – Nate Radley
3 All Or Nothing At All
Written-By – A. Altman*, J. Lawrence*
4 Bittersweet 9:55
5 Satellite
Written-By – John Coltrane
6 The Question 9:03
7 Alone 10:14

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – David Smith
  • Copyright (c) – David Smith
  • Pressed By – Disc Makers – MUC1059
  • Recorded At – Sear Sound
  • Licensed To – Brooklyn Jazz Underground Records LLC


  • Bass – Gary Wang
  • Drums – Greg Ritchie
  • Guitar – Nate Radley
  • Mastered By – Michael Perez-Cisneros
  • Mixed By – Pete Rende
  • Recorded By – Chris Allen
  • Saxophone – Kenji Omae
  • Trumpet, Producer, Design, Photography – David Smith
  • Written-By – David Smith (tracks: 1, 4, 6, 7)


Rec. 14/8/2009
℗&© 2012 David Smith

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 8 84501 29649 6
  • Matrix / Runout: MUC1059